Constructed in 1907, this historic venue has been an iconic presence at the University of North Carolina (UNC) at Chapel Hill since its conception.
Hill Hall was originally a Carnegie Library, but the addition of an auditorium in 1931 as well as classrooms, rehearsal rooms, and faculty offices in 1963, converted this site into the home of UNC’s music department. Today, Hill Hall is home to UNC’s Music Department, and after a $15 million renovation, the venue has been renamed the James and Susan Moeser Auditorium.
In celebration of the completion of this project, UNC hosted a dedication and ribbon cutting ceremony on February 8th, 2017. The ceremony showcased the newly improved and fine-tuned acoustics of this grand hall with performances of Bach and Schubert by faculty and students alike.
“Hill Hall’s renovation is transformative. [It is] an extraordinary performing arts facility that is befitting to a first-rate, world-class music program.”
- Chancellor Carol L. Folt